Amethi is a town in Amethi district in Faizabad division, of Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. Gauriganj is the administrative headquarter of Amethi district. Amethi town is thirteen kilometers away from the district headquarter. Amethi is a major town of the Amethi district and also a municipal board.

Amethi is known for being the constituency of Indian Nehru-Gandhi Family since 1980. Amethi has been a Congress stronghold since its formation in 1966. The former prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru's grandsons Sanjay and Rajiv Gandhi (the sons of Indira Gandhi), Rajiv Gandhi's widow Sonia Gandhi and son Rahul Gandhi, have at one time or the other, represented this constituency. Amethi has elected Non-Nehru dynasty Congress person to parliament for two terms (Vidyadhar Bajpai 1966-77) and a non-congress M.P once (Ravindra Pratap Singh, Janata Party, 1977–80) Mr. Chandra Kant Pandey is the District Magistrate of Amethi.